• Peter MüllerPeter Müller, 5 years ago

    This is amazing. The elements are exactly the same.


    33 points
    • Mike Wilson, 5 years ago

      If I had to guess this was thrown together by some shady web design firm trying to target American small biz law firm clients with flashy Silicon Valley-esque marketing.

      Actually quite a clever strategy if they would have taken the time to change the website instead of stealing it!

      2 points
  • Matt HelbigMatt Helbig, 5 years ago

    web designer: what kind of site do you want?

    counseldrive: just give me that stripe dot com

    web designer: say no more

    24 points
  • Aaron SagrayAaron Sagray, 5 years ago

    A service for… law firm marketing. Not ironic.

    22 points
  • Jonathan SimcoeJonathan Simcoe, 5 years ago

    lol... even their open graph image is Stripe's...


    13 points
    • Josiah TullisJosiah Tullis, 5 years ago

      I think they just used wget to download the entire webpage and then edit the source.

      3 points
  • No Name, 5 years ago

    This was brought to my attention by Zac Nielson on Twitter.

    CounselDrive has literally stolen the Stripe website. It's not even a subtle rip because they left some Stripe favicons in the head element!

    Stripe.com for reference.


    I've been doing some more research and there doesn't appear to be much of anything about this company. Their WHOis comes up private and there's no record of them on CrunchBase, AngelList or any media publications.

    If I had to guess, these guys ripped the design to try and have something flashy for initial customer acquisition so that they could raise capital. That said, rip-offs like this don't deserve the benefit of the doubt.

    Hopefully they take it down.

    12 points
  • chris caseychris casey, 5 years ago

    They're not the only ones: https://bstow.com/

    9 points
  • Jeffrey de GrootJeffrey de Groot, 5 years ago

    Their Twitter account is even more crazy, almost seems like a prank https://twitter.com/counseldrive

    8 points
    • James LaneJames Lane, 5 years ago

      It's so confusing! Gotta admit, it seems like something is going on, maybe a disgruntled employee???

      Even more so when you see that their twitter location is "India probably"

      Must be fake?!

      1 point
    • No Name, 5 years ago

      I don't think this is the actual twitter of the CounselDrive company. The most recent tweet was 18hrs ago and when I shared this, I couldn't find them on any social media. If I had a guess, someone saw their website, the available twitter, and has started mocking them.

      4 points
  • Brennan Smith, 5 years ago

    Hope they have a good lawyer, wait...

    7 points
  • Max Quinn, 5 years ago

    Their Twitter seems like a massive spoof. I'm going for satirical commentary on the amount of clients asking for 'make it look like Stripe' and the amount of designers taking 'inspiration' from them.

    4 points
    • Josh KingJosh King, 5 years ago

      Definitely looks like a fake business from their twitter. Their location and the fact that every single tweet is them mocking stripe. Even from the beginning.

      2 points
      • Max Quinn, 5 years ago

        Exactly. But what if we've got it all wrong and Stripe stole CounselDrive's website?

        1 point
  • Joshua TurnerJoshua Turner, 5 years ago

    Every link on the page goes to the same contact form.

    This is just sad, reminds me of that "agency" that ripped metalab.co late last year.

    Here's a full height screen capture of the site in case they decide to remove it.

    4 points
  • Marc Olivier LapierreMarc Olivier Lapierre, 5 years ago

    Wow. Disgusting.

    2 points
  • Andrew Possehl, 5 years ago

    Lol, pretty sure these guys are trolling. Read through their Twitter reply stream https://twitter.com/counseldrive/with_replies

    1 point
    • No Name, 5 years ago

      By the looks of it, the twitter is owned by someone from here that's making a joke out of the actual CounselDrive guys. I'd assume this since—apparently—I'm one of the 4 people the account is following.


      0 points
  • Jonathan EngstromJonathan Engstrom, 5 years ago

    Pretty sure this is some massive spoof.

    The twitter account follows 2 people (Trump and Stripe) and all 40 tweets are retweets of Stripe directly or people telling them they've ripped it off - they've just replaced all mentions of @Stripe with @CounselDrive and visa versa.

    1 point
  • Jan SemlerJan Semler, 5 years ago

    Doesn't look like anything to me ...

    1 point
  • Kemie GuaidaKemie Guaida, 5 years ago

    No they didn't! It's totally a different color!


    1 point
  • Ale UrrutiaAle Urrutia, 5 years ago

    I don't want to play devil's advocate here but maybe wasn't "CounselDrive" the one ripping off the design, maybe was the designer/team who did it.

    Last year, two Chinese startups "got inspired" by my design for dji.com. One of the designers from the startup wrote me to tell me he was a big fan and got "inspired on my work" to design the ripped off website.

    1 point
  • zafer o., 5 years ago

    it happens.

    1 point
  • Joe Roberto, 5 years ago

    WOW. What a f'ing joke.

    1 point
  • Ankit JoshiAnkit Joshi, 5 years ago


    1 point
  • tony wtony w, 5 years ago

    Hey errrrbody, it's me here, designer of CounselDrive. AMA, happy to answer!

    0 points
  • Damián HernándezDamián Hernández, 5 years ago

    Shame, shame, shame!

    0 points
  • Jenia StratilaJenia Stratila, 5 years ago

    Maybe this is a marketing trick... bad promotion is still a promotion

    0 points
  • Daniel WiklundDaniel Wiklund, 5 years ago

    What was it Picasso said "Good artists copy, great artists steal" ;)

    0 points
  • Jordan GardinerJordan Gardiner, 5 years ago

    Just noticed they left in a meta tag linking to a French version of the site with Stripe branding and text in-place. Most of the links go back to Stripe, but the pricing page has unique content not linked anywhere else on the site. Still laughing at the 'Sophisticated web design' section.

    0 points
  • Rodriguez Salt, 5 years ago

    Seems they tried to copy website but it didn't happen much so they just stole it. Nice

    0 points